Acts Online
GT Shield

Skills Development Act, 1998 (Act No. 97 of 1998)


Constitution of the Tourism, Hospitality and Sport Training Authority (THETA)

Chapter 5 : Office-Bearers of THETA

14. Election


14.1 Each of the Office-bearers of the Board of the THETA shall be elected from amongst appointed and ratified Board Members representing Employees' Organisations as defined and Employers' Organisations as defined. The Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson shall not be elected from the same constituency group and after each 2 year period of office the respective positions shall be alternated between the respective constituency groups.


14.2 The first election of the office-bearers of the Board shall take place at the general meeting called for the purpose of ratifying the new Board as envisaged in this constitution and thereafter and, where applicable, the subsequent election of the Office-bearers of the Board of the THETA shall take place at the Annual General Meeting of THETA and the persons so elected shall hold office for a period of 2 years from the general meeting or Annual General Meeting that elected them.