Acts Online
GT Shield

Skills Development Act, 1998 (Act No. 97 of 1998)


Constitution of the Energy Sector Education & Training Education (ESETA)

14. Office Bearers of the Authority


14.1 The Authority shall comprise of the following office bearers:
(i) A Chairperson; and
(ii) A Deputy-Chairperson;


14.2 The Chairperson and Deputy-Chairperson shall be elected annually during an Annual General Meeting of the Authority, from among the Organised employer and Organised labour representatives. Where the Chairperson is elected from the Organised labour constituency, the Deputy-Chairperson must be elected from the Organised employer constituency and vice versa.


14.3 The Chairperson and the Deputy Chairperson shall not lose their voting right.


14.4 Both the Chairperson and the Deputy-Chairperson shall be eligible for re-election to that position of office.


14.5 Once a new Chairperson and Deputy-Chairperson have been elected, the duties of the current Chairperson and Deputy-Chairperson terminate.


14.6 In the absence of the Chairperson, the Deputy-Chairperson will perform the functions of chairperson at meetings of the Authority. In the event of both being absent, the Authority may appoint a temporary chairperson to perform these functions in accordance with section 13.4 of this constitution.


14.7 In the event of an office bearer of the Authority having to be replaced for whatever reason, before expiry of that person's period of office, the stakeholders of the respective constituent grouping (organised labour, organised employers or government departments) must elect a replacement from among their members on the Authority, to serve until the expiry of the current term of office for that office bearer.


14.8 Any vacancy left by an office bearer of the Authority may be filled in accordance with Section 12.10 of this constitution.