Acts Online
GT Shield

South African Schools Act, 1996 (Act No 84 of 1996)

National Norms and Standards for School Funding (NNSSF)

Notice No. 1179 of 2009


Notice No. 1179

11 December 2009


Department of Education


1) I, Angelina Matsie Motshekga, Minister of Basic Education, hereby, in accordance with section 39(10) of the South African Schools Act, 1996 (Act No. 84 of 1996), publish the list per province, of schools that may not charge school fees.


2) The Members of the Executive Councils (MECs) responsible for education in provinces have identified the specific schools in the province that may not charge school fees [that will be no-fee schools as contemplated in section 39(9) of the South African Schools Act, 1996] in 2010.


3) The following table illustrates the provincial number of learners as well as the number of no fee schools in each province in 2010 for Q1 - Q3:



Table 1 can be found in Government Gazette No. 32804 dated 11 December 2009



4) As shown in Table 1 above a total of 68.27 percent of learners in public schools will be in 19 933 no fee schools in 2010. This is above the national target of 60% and it is attributed to the ability of some provinces to extend the no fee status to more learners based on their available budgets.


5) The list of schools per province with the details per school may be accessed as follows:
5.1) From the office of:

Director: Financial Planning

Ms MD Masipa

Department of Basic Education

Private Bag X895

PRETORIA, 0001, Tel: (012) 312 6090/1;

Fax: (012) 312 5920; Email:


5.2) From the Department of Education's website,, under "Current News".


6) All schools identified in the list contemplated in paragraph 5 must be notified by letter that the school is a no-fee school within 5 working days after I have approved the list.


7) Specific questions regarding schools identified in the no fee schools list should be addressed to the MECs for Education in the provinces, at the following addresses:


Addresses can be found in Government Gazette No. 32804 dated 11 December 2009.




Angie Motshekga, MP

Minister of Basic Education

Date: 2009-12-03