Acts Online
GT Shield

South African Schools Act, 1996 (Act No 84 of 1996)


Publication of List of No Fee Schools Per Province : Declaring No Fee Schools in 2007 for all Nine Provinces

Notice No. 1205 of 2006


Notice No. 1205

1 December 2006


Department of Education


I, Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor, Minister of Education, after considering the lists of schools identified by the Members of the Executive Council of Education in each province and having compared the respective lists with the requirements set out in the National Norms and Standards for School Funding (published in Government Notice No 29179 dated 31 August 2006), hereby publish the lists per province, in accordance with Section 39 (10) of the South African Schools Act, 1996 (Act No 84 of 1996), of schools that may not charge school fees as set out in the Schedule.


The schools identified in the Schedule may not charge school fees for the school year 2007 subject to the provisions of Section 39 of South African Schools Act, 1996.


Specific questions regarding schools on the lists should be addressed to the MECs of Education in the provinces.


These lists will be available on the Department of Education's website: under the "current news".




Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor, MP

Minister of Education

Date: 22-11-2006


[The List in this Government Notice is available in Government Gazette No. 29438 dated 1 December 2006]