Acts Online
GT Shield

Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 (Act No. 108 of 1996)

Chapter 4 : Parliament

National Council of Provinces

64. Chairperson and Deputy Chairpersons


(1) The National Council of Provinces must elect a Chairperson and two Deputy Chairpersons from among the delegates.


(2) The Chairperson and one of the Deputy Chairpersons are elected from among the permanent delegates for five years unless their terms as delegates expire earlier.


(3) The other Deputy Chairperson is elected for a term of one year, and must be succeeded by a delegate from another province, so that every province is represented in turn.


(4) The Chief Justice must preside over the election of the Chairperson, or designate another judge to do so. The Chairperson presides over the election of the Deputy Chairpersons.


(5) The procedure set out in Part A of Schedule 3 applies to the election of the Chairperson and the Deputy Chairpersons.


(6) The National Council of Provinces may remove the Chairperson or a Deputy Chairperson from office.


(7) In terms of its rules and orders, the National Council of Provinces may elect from among the delegates other presiding officers to assist the Chairperson and Deputy Chairpersons.