Acts Online
GT Shield

Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 (Act No. 108 of 1996)

Chapter 7 : Local Government

151. Status of municipalities


(1) The local sphere of government consists of municipalities, which must be established for the whole of the territory of the Republic.


(2) The executive and legislative authority of a municipality is vested in its Municipal Council.


(3) A municipality has the right to govern, on its own initiative, the local government affairs of its community, subject to national and provincial legislation, as provided for in the Constitution.


(4) The national or a provincial government may not compromise or impede a municipality's ability or right to exercise its powers or perform its functions.