Acts Online
GT Shield

Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 (Act No. 108 of 1996)

Chapter 6 : Provinces

103. Provinces


(1) The Republic has the following provinces—
(a) Eastern Cape
(b) Free State
(c) Gauteng
(d) KwaZulu-Natal
(e) Limpopo
(f) Mpumalanga
(g) Northern Cape
(h) North West
(i) Western Cape.


(2) The geographical areas of the respective provinces comprise the sum of the indicated geographical areas reflected in the various maps referred to in the Notice listed in Schedule 1A,


(a) Whenever the geographical area of a province is re -determined by an amendment to the Constitution, an Act of Parliament may provide for measures to regulate, within a reasonable time, the legal, practical and any other consequences of the re-determination
(b) An Act of Parliament envisaged in paragraph (a) may be enacted and implemented before such amendment to the Constitution takes effect, but any provincial functions, assets, rights, obligations, duties or liabilities may only be transferred in terms of that Act after that amendment to the Constitution takes effect.