Acts Online
GT Shield

National Health Act, 2003 (Act No. 61 of 2003)


Regulations relating to Categories of Hospitals

6. Central Hospitals


(1) A central hospital—
(a) must provide tertiary hospital services and central referral services and may provide national referral services;
(b) must provide training of health care providers;
(c) must conduct research;
(d) receives patients referred to it from more than one province;
(e) must be attached to a medical school as the main teaching platform; and
(f) must have a maximum of 1200 beds.


(2) Central referral services are provided in highly specialised units, require unique, highly skilled and scarce personnel and at a small number of sites nationwide.


(3) National referral services—
(a) refer to super-specialised national referral units; and
(b) represents extremely specialised and expensive services (e.g. heart and lung transplant, bone marrow transplant, liver transplant, cochlear implants).