Acts Online
GT Shield

National Health Act, 2003 (Act No. 61 of 2003)


Regulations relating to Categories of Hospitals

5. Tertiary hospitals


A tertiary hospital—

(a) provides specialist level services provided by regional hospitals;
(b) provides subspecialties of specialties referred to in paragraph (a);
(c) provides intensive care services under the supervision of a specialist or specialist intensivist; and
(d) receives referrals from regional hospitals not limited to provincial boundaries; and
(e) has between 400 and 800 beds.