Acts Online
GT Shield

National Health Act, 2003 (Act No. 61 of 2003)


Regulations relating to Categories of Hospitals

4. Regional hospitals


(1) A regional hospital must, on a 24 hour basis, provide—
(a) health services in the fields of internal medicine, paediatrics, obstetrics and gynaecology, and general surgery and;
(b) health services in at least one of the following specialties—
(i) orthopaedic surgery;
(ii) psychiatry;
(iii) anaesthetics;
(iv) diagnostic radiology;
(c) trauma and emergency services;
(d) short term ventilation in a critical care unit; and
(e) services to a defined, regional drainage population, limited to provincial boundaries and receives referrals from several district hospitals.


(2) A regional hospital receives outreach and support from tertiary hospitals.


(3) A regional hospital has between 400 and 800 beds.