Acts Online
GT Shield

National Health Act, 2003 (Act No. 61 of 2003)


Advisory Committee on Reference Price Lists: Appointments

Notice No. 398 of 2008


Notice No. 398

11 April 2008


Department of Health


The Minister of Health has, in terms of section 91(1) of the National Health Act (Act No 61 of 2003) ("the Act") appointed the following persons as members of an advisory committee on reference price lists ("the Committee"):


1. Dr Reno Morar (Chairperson)
2. Prof Heather Mcleod
3. Mr Marothi Ledwaba
4. Ms Mizeria Nyathi
5. Prof David Buso
6. Mr Stephen Harrison
7. Prof Indres Moodley
8. Ms Nandisile Mokoena (as an observer)



Functions of the Committee


The Committee—

(a) advises the Director-General generally on the determination of reference price lists, starting with the 2009 reference price lists, as contemplated in section 90(1)(v) of the Act, and in particular, on the verification of information submitted to the Director-General in terms of regulation 5 of the Regulations Relating to the Obtainment of Information and the Processes of Determination and Publication of Reference Price Lists, the regulations made in terms of the Act;
(b) may request the Director-General that research to be undertaken into any area falling within these terms of reference;
(c) may establish subcommittees comprising its members to perform such functions of the Committee as the Committee may determine.


Term of office and Remuneration


(1) Members of the Committee are appointed for a period of three years.


(2) Members the committee who are not in the full-time employment of the State shall be paid, in accordance with Treasury Regulations made in terms of the Public Finance Management Act, 1999 (Act No. 1 of 1999), such remuneration and allowances in respect of any expenses incurred in the performance of the functions of the Committee, as may be determined by the National Department of Health.


Meetings and Procedures


The Committee:

(a) must at its first meeting:
(i) note the appointment of the Chairperson;
(ii) elect one of its members as deputy Chairperson; and
(iii) note that the National Department of Health's Financial Planning and Economics Directorate shall provide secretariat services to the Committee.
(b) must meet at such times and places as may be determined by the Chairperson in consultation with the Director-General. The Committee shall meet at least three times a year and on a frequency to be determined by the Chairperson.
(c) shall, in consultation with the Director-General, make rules governing its meetings and such rules shall include:
(i) the procedures for such meetings;
(ii) recommendations arising out those meetings;
(iii) duties of committee members during and outside those meetings;
(iv) reporting by the Committee; and
(v) interaction with the media.