Acts Online
GT Shield

National Environmental Management Act, 1998 (Act No. 107 of 1998)

Regulations for the Establishment of a Designated National Authority for the Clean Development Mechanism

4. Establishment of a Steering Committee for DNA



1) A Steering Committee for the DNA is hereby established.


2) The Steering Committee consists of ten members representing the following National Departments:
a) Minerals and Energy;
b) Environmental Affairs and Tourism;
c) Water Affairs and Forestry;
d) Foreign Affairs;
e) Trade and Industry;
f) Agriculture and Land: Affairs;
g) Transport;
h) National Treasury;
i) Science and Technology; and
j) Health.


3) The Directors General of each of the Departments represented in the Steering Committee must appoint one member of the Committee and an alternate to that member from among the officials in their departments.


4) Each member of the Steering Committee serves until the member's successor has been appointed or until his or her termination of employment by the Department concerned, whichever is the sooner.


5) The chairperson of the Steering Committee is the representative of the Department of Minerals and Energy.


6) The Steering Committee must establish terms of reference for its operations which will address the following matters:
a) Meetings of the Steering Committee;
b) Decisions of the Steering Committee;
c) Establishment of subcommittees, and an Expert Advisory Committee, and
d) Powers and duties of Sub-committees and the Expert Advisory Committee.