Acts Online
GT Shield

Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 (Act No. 108 of 1996)

Chapter 4 : Parliament

National Council of Provinces

60. Composition of National Council


(1) The National Council of Provinces is composed of a single delegation from each province consisting of ten delegates.


(2) The ten delegates are—
(a) four special delegates consisting of—
(i) the Premier of the province or, if the Premier is not available, any member of the provincial legislature designated by the Premier either generally or for any specific business before the National Council of Provinces; and
(ii) three other special delegates; and
(b) six permanent delegates appointed in terms of section 61(2).


(3) The Premier of a province, or if the Premier is not available, a member of the province's delegation designated by the Premier, heads the delegation.