Acts Online
GT Shield

Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 (Act No. 108 of 1996)

Chapter 9 : State Institutions Supporting Constitutional Democracy

181. Establishment and governing principles


(1) The following state institutions strengthen constitutional democracy in the Republic—
(a) The Public Protector.
(b) The South African Human Rights Commission.
(c) The Commission for the Promotion and Protection of the Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities.
(d) The Commission for Gender Equality.
(e) The Auditor-General.
(f) The Electoral Commission.


(2) These institutions are independent, and subject only to the Constitution and the law, and they must be impartial and must exercise their powers and perform their functions without fear, favour or prejudice.


(3) Other organs of state, through legislative and other measures, must assist and protect these institutions to ensure the independence, impartiality, dignity and effectiveness of these institutions.


(4) No person or organ of state may interfere with the functioning of these institutions.


(5) These institutions are accountable to the National Assembly, and must report on their activities and the performance of their functions to the Assembly at least once a year.