Acts Online
GT Shield

South African Qualifications Authority Act, 1995 (Act No. 58 of 1995)

Level Descriptors Regulations (NQF levels 1 to 4), 2003

6. Level descriptors, NQF level 4


A learning programme leading to the award of a qualification or unit standards at NQF level 4 shall develop learners who demonstrate with regard to:

(a) applied competence—
(i) a fundamental knowledge base of the most important areas of one or more fields or disciplines, in addition to the fundamental areas of study;
(ii) an informed understanding of the key terms, rules, concepts, established principles and theories in one or more fields or disciplines;
(iii) an understanding of the organisation or operating environment as a system within a wider context;
(iv) an ability to apply essential methods, procedures and techniques of the field or discipline;
(v) an ability to .apply and carry out actions by interpreting information from text and operational symbols or representations;
(vi) an ability to use their knowledge to solve common problems within a familiar context;
(vii) an ability to adjust an application of a common solution within relevant parameters to meet the needs of small changes in the problem or operating context;
(viii) an ability to motivate the change using relevant evidence;
(ix) a basic ability in gathering relevant information, .analysis and evaluation skills; and
(x) an ability to communicate and present information reliably and accurately in writing and verbally;
(b) autonomy of learning—
(i) a capacity to take responsibility for their own learning within a supervised environment;
(ii) a capacity to take decisions about and responsibility for actions;
(iii) a capacity to evaluate their own performance against given criteria; and
(iv) a capacity to take the initiative to address any shortcomings they find.